Tags

, , , , , , , ,

OnesThatGotAway

Every year, despite my best efforts to the contrary, I always end up missing a bushel (or two) worth of films that I would probably love…or, at the very least, get a huge kick out of. These could be films that have a tremendous amount of critical/award season buzz, productions by filmmakers/actors/writers that I follow or just things that look like they’ll be pretty interesting.

The reasons for this are myriad (my intenseĀ dislike of going to the theater; my general focus on horror and genre films, especially in the month of October; a desire to intersperse watching “new” films with past favorites; my tendency to binge-watch TV shows in between screenings) but the results are always the same: I spend the year cruising along, only to realize that it’s the end of December and I still need to see between 30-50 films.

Here, then (with very little rhyme, reason or sense of ranking), are all of the films that I missed out on this year. Needless to say, I’ll be trying to catch as many of these as I can before awards season hits but, for purposes of our end-of-the-year lists, these are all the ones that got away.

– – –

Bridge of Spies

Creed

James White

Steve Jobs

Krampus (missing this one hurt)

Chi-raq

Spotlight

Room

Trumbo

In the Heart of the Sea

45 Years

The Big Short

Joy

The Revenant (missing this one really hurt)

Anomalisa

Amy

Timbuktu

’71

Appropriate Behavior

Love & Mercy

Going Clear

Clouds of Sils Maria

The Hunting Ground

Mr. Holmes

Far From the Madding Crowd

Goodnight Mommy

The Salt of the Earth

When Marnie Was There

Still Alice

Mistress America

Carol

Sicario (another near miss that I still regret)

The Visit

Straight Outta Compton

The Diary of a Teenage Girl

99 Homes

Crimson Peak

Condemned

Movement + Location

Dementia

Anguish

Scout’s Guide to the Zombie Apocalypse

