Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

2009-09-11-trick_r_treat

For a lifelong horror fan, October is a pretty sacred month: the weeks leading up to the 31st are prime real estate for loading up as many horror films as possible. As someone who’s always taken my movies fairly seriously, I approach my October viewing with the same degree of ridiculous obsessive behavior, meaning that I’m already working on the perfect schedule for the upcoming festivities.

The rules, as in the past few years, are pretty simple: at least one horror movie a day (although I always end up missing a day or two); themed groupings for double-and triple-features (you gotta love weekends); and as even a split as I can get between old favorites and first screenings. Thanks to Netflix’s new policy regarding processing requests on Saturdays, however, this year will be a little trickier to navigate than in the past. Just like a good ghoul, however, you can’t keep The VHS Graveyard down and the show will definitely go on.

As I continue to figure out and finalize this year’s screenings, I thought that readers might enjoy perusing the lists of the past couple Octobers’ screenings. Since there are certain films I try to watch every October, such as Romero’s Dawn of the Dead (1978) and Carpenter’s Halloween (1978), you can definitely expect a few repeats. As a new challenge, however, I’m going to try to focus on films that I’ve yet to write-up for The VHS Graveyard. If we do need to cover something that’s already been discussed (not even this humble blog is safe from remake fever, after all), I’ll try to find a different angle to tackle it from.

Without further ado, then, here is the list of my October viewing from October 2012. Please enjoy this (slight) blast from the not-too-distant past:

The Tall Man (2012)

Kill List (2011)

Hellbound: Hellraiser II (1988)

Crucible of Horror (1971)

The Cabin in the Woods (2012)

Troll (1986)

11-11-11 (2011)

Creature from the Black Lagoon (1954)

Night of the Scarecrow (1995)

The Wolf Man (1941)

Squirm (1976)

Prometheus (2012)

The Invisible Man (1933)

Dead Snow (2009)

Intruders (2011)

Dark House (2009)

The Night of the Hunter (1955)

Lisa and the Devil (1973)

Pig Hunt (2008)

The Fog (1980)

An American Werewolf in London (1981)

Creature (1985)

The Terror (1963)

Die, Monster, Die! (1965)

Abbott and Costello Meet Frankenstein (1948)

The Devil’s Carnival (2012)

Suspiria (1977)

Dawn of the Dead (1978)

The Texas Chain Saw Massacre (1974)

Halloween (1978)

